Skip to content

Watching the numbers and trying not to obsess

July 24, 2011

So far, I have sold 35 copies of my book. This doesn’t sound like much, and it isn’t, but I’m assured that these numbers are actually quite good for a no-name first-time author.

The numbers break down like this:

Amazon for June: 7 @ $.35 each
Amazon for July: 15 @ $.35 each
Barnes & Noble for July: 9 @ $.40 each
Smashwords for July: 4 @ $2.35 each, plus 5 more ‘sample’ downloads which may translate into sales later

I’m trying not to obsess. I’m trying to only check my sales numbers once a day. I’m trying to follow the wisdom in this post by Dean Wesley Smith because he’s talking to people exactly like me. Read down in the comments. I’m “Angela in Seattle”, and you’ll see someone’s response to me, telling me I should feel encouraged at those sales numbers. It’s not because I want to “get rich quick”, you know. Obviously looking at the numbers above, I’m not likely to get rich at all, much less quickly. And I really would write even if I weren’t going to publish. I need to create. It’s like an itch. It’s like – I know some of you will know what I mean – having a nicotine fit, or craving sugar or caffeine. It gnaws at me until I give in. However, I do have to confess that I want people to read what I’ve written and give me feedback. You know, nice little egoboosts. ‘Hey lady, I spent a nice afternoon reading your story. I enjoyed that.’ They get pleasure. I get pleasure. I acknowledge it’s a bit self-serving, but if they get something out of it in return, it seems a fair trade.

Tentative cover for book 2, 'Wolf or Consequences'I’ve been working on the cover art for book 2. I’m working on a theme, as you’ll see: A wolf photo, modified to, among other things, be primarily one color or another. Fortunately, there are enough colors in the world that I shouldn’t have trouble making a whole series of covers. I’ve only focus-grouped this cover on the kids, but they like it. Fortunately, kids are brutally honest. If they don’t like it, they’ll say so, and if they don’t want to say so for fear of hurting your feelings, their body language will still give them away. Evasive eyes, hunched shoulders. They do want to know which wolf this is in the picture. Answer: that doesn’t matter. Look at those TEETH.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

