Skip to content

Working on chronology – it’s harder than it sounds!

August 1, 2011

I’ve spent most of the last week making NO progress toward the final resolution of book 6. The problem with being a ‘pantser’ is that when you paint yourself into a corner, you may have to wait until the paint dries to tiptoe out and look at the room from another angle.

So here I am. Bad guy is going to attack X and Y (this is non-negotiable). Does bad guy attack X first, or Y first? If he attacks X first, what motivates him to attack Y later? If he attacks Y first, how does he not get caught?

In the end, I decided on what seemed like the most illogical progression, which means I can go forward. You know, “Do something, even if it’s wrong.” There are still flaws in the way I’ve chosen, but I win by getting several extra loose story ends woven in successfully, and I think satisfactorily, at the end.

No gratuitous fights here, folks. Just necessary ones.

And while I’m on the subject, I am now reading The Demon’s Apprentice by Ben Reeder. Mr. Reeder has been kind enough to write a gracious, and very honest, review of ‘Endangered Species: Werewolf’ (dated July 31). I will be posting my review of his book here. I bought it and put it on my iTouch – time to get reading!

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

