Skip to content

Ohmu….Ohmu….

September 22, 2011


There is a movie by Hayao Miyazaki called ‘Nausicaa’. We love all the Miyazaki films except maybe ‘Princess Mononoke,’ and of course the kids want plush animals based on the characters in the stories. Of course they do. Like they wanted Toothless from the movie ‘How to Train your Dragon’:


In the movie Nausicaa, the young princess Nausicaa defends the rights of the huge, and very dangerous, insects of her world to survive – like the Dune-Meets-Pillbug “Ohmu” (pronounced ‘ohm’). She likes them. She can communicate with them. Why precisely this makes my children want to have plush Ohmu, I don’t know, but see my efforts:

From → Uncategorized

10 Comments
  1. Ippus permalink

    That’s awesome! My 3-yr-old loves Nausicaa. I have like zero craftiness, though. Have you ever run across anywhere I could get something like that online?

  2. I have never been able to find any online, or else I did and it was so expensive I decided to make them myself. Would she like a small one, like the one in the picture? I could probably whomp one together, only with painted-on eyes (for safety) and gold fleece ‘tentacles’ instead of the cord shown. I have some gray fleece scraps! And yellow! It wouldn’t cost much to mail, either. Would you like me to do that for…oh, I don’t know. $10 plus shipping?

    • Ippus permalink

      Really? That’s incredible. Let me talk to my wife about it and see what she thinks. How small is the small one?

  3. Using the scrap fabric I have here, I can make a carry-everywhere sized one, somewhere between 6-8″ long (not counting the tentacles) out of dark gray fleece with painted-on happy blue dot eyes. It won’t take long to make it since I have all the stuff here (I even found the yellow cording after making my last post, but I think I like the idea of gold fleece tentacles for a 3 year old more than the cord, which tends to ravel).

    My daughters are older (the ones in the post were made for one of my 12 year old twins) so I was able to glue on blue fake jewels (and you wouldn’t believe how hard I had to hunt to FIND them!) but I wouldn’t trust a 3 year old with those even if I had any left over.

  4. And if your wife is at all concerned – I sell on eBay. Could do it as a single-buyer eBay sale and you can rest assured that it would be a good transaction and I wouldn’t scam your money and run. πŸ™‚

  5. Ebay user ID is ‘chotii’

  6. So I know I’ve rushed this, but I’m procrastinating working on my novel. πŸ˜‰ I whomped together a 3-yr-old-safe Ohmu. It is about 8″ long (not including tentacles) and 4 1/2″ tall. The sparkly blue eyes are painted on. It can be carried or even flailed around by the tentacles. It’s all new fleece, new weighting poly beads in a mesh bag (I had some around from previous projects), new stuffing:

    Ohmu

    If your wife says no, that’s perfectly fine. I’m sure I can find it a happy home. πŸ™‚

    • Ippus permalink

      Wow, you’re really amazing. Yeah, my wife likes it. I’ll find you on Ebay. Thanks!

  7. Ann permalink

    I would love some plush omhu for my son. I know this is an old post but if you read this please let me know! πŸ˜€ I can paypal the money! πŸ˜€ He would LOVE a few cuddly omhus!

    • I only have one made at the moment, Ann, but if you’d like it, I’ll calculate the shipping for you. Let me know?

Leave a Reply

