Skip to content

Achievement unlocked: Weighted Blanket

May 2, 2013

Weighted blankets are often given to kids with sensory integration disorders. The deep pressure of the weight calms the nervous system, or so I’ve read.  I wanted one to help calm my restless legs when I’m trying to go to sleep at night, but I didn’t want to pay $60 for a little lap pad.

So, I went to the thrift store, my go-to place for every sort of project or need, and came home with a pale blue baby blanket, crib sized, trimmed with satin, and made of two layers: minky fabric one side, and microfiber sherpa plush on the other. I removed the satin binding at one of the short ends, sewed channels longwise (if I had it to do over again, I’d have made the channels about 2″ wide – these were more like 1.5″ and the nose of the funnel didn’t quite fit inside the top of each channel), and filled it with 10 lbs of polystyrene pellets bought on eBay. Total cost: about $25. And 2 or 3 hours of work.

The kids love it. They say they really enjoy the feeling of the weight. It’s *mine*, not theirs, but Alexandra helped me get the open end stitched up, because 10 lbs of blanket trying to slide determinedly off the table is not conducive to getting the open end stitched while preventing 10,000,000 tiny poly pellets from making a leap for freedom….so she got to try it out first, before I did.

I think I’d just buy one, next time, if there ever is a next time. Also, there are poly pellets all over my house.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

